My Cart

SASTA Awards

Please see below for links to nomination forms and criteria for the various awards presented or nominated by SASTA. 

2020 Nominations are now closed.


The SASTA Medal is the highest honour awarded by SASTA to one of its members in recognition of their significant long term commitment to the association and their contribution to science education.


  1. The nominator must be a current member of SASTA.
  2. The nominee must have been a member of SASTA for at least 10 years.
  3. The nominee should have made a significant contribution to SASTA or have an active involvement in science education. This would include voluntary work in any of the following:

- SASTA committees or reference groups
- representing SASTA
- facilitating professional development
- curriculum development
- mentoring
- writing articles or books

View the SASTA Medal recipients

Helen Castle Memorial Scholarships

Awards Helen Castle

These scholarships are in memory of Helen Castle, a dedicated and enthusiastic science teacher who tragically died during the Eyre Peninsula bushfires in 2005.

The scholarship is designed to assist country science teachers attend the SASTA conference and gain professional development to assist themselves and other country teachers to maintain a high standard of science teaching within country areas.

Two (2) scholarships of $500 plus a complimentary conference registration are awarded to enable country based science teachers to attend the SASTA Annual Conference.


  • The award is open to all teachers but preference will be given to those persons who hold SASTA Personal Membership or Joint Membership.
  • The teacher is currently teaching in a country school ('country' for the purpose of this scholarship is defined as being an area with a postcode greater than 5200).
  • The teacher is an inspiring and highly motivating teacher of science, who enthuses and engages students in scientific learning.
  • The teacher has difficulty attending professional development due to the distance of their school from Adelaide.

View the Helen Castle Memorial Scholarship recipients

Credit Union SA/SASTA Outstanding Contribution to the Teaching of Science Award

These awards recognise teachers' contributions to the education of students in:

  • Junior primary (R–2)
  • Primary (3–6)
  • Middle years (7–9)
  • Senior secondary (10–12)

The award is presented to the winner of each category at a SASTA event (usually the Annual Conference).

Awards are only open to SASTA members (Personal, Joint or Corporate Membership only).

Nominees musty have demonstrated:

  • Participation in professional development activities in science as a facilitator and/or participant and continuous development as an effective science educator;
  • Promoting student engagement in science by providing an environment that stimulates student curiosity and interest in science;
  • Developing and/or using innovative instructional material or innovative approaches to teaching science;
  • Being a positive role model for other teachers of science within the school/work site.

View the Credit Union SA / SASTA Outstanding Contribution to the Teaching of Science Award winners

SASTA Honour Awards

Honour Awards are designed to recognise SASTA member’s contribution to SASTA. This contribution may be in a specific area or areas which contribute to the objectives aims of SASTA but may not be at a level to receive the SASTA Medal. The SASTA Medal is the highest honour awarded by SASTA.  The next highest is the Honour Award. The areas could relate to the functions of the Board, one of the subcommittees or reference groups or representing SASTA.

The objectives of SASTA are:

  • To promote and support the teaching of science in schools.
  • To foster the professional development of science teachers.


  1. Financial member of SASTA for at least 5 years
  2. The person nominating the recipient must be a financial member
  3. The contribution of the nominee is on a voluntary basis. An honorarium would not exclude a person under this criteria
  4. The contribution of the person must be of significance as judged by the Board, that one or more of the objectives of SASTA or of a subcommittee or reference group have been advanced beyond reasonable expectations

Examples include but not restricted to:

  • SASTA committees or reference groups
  • Representing SASTA in a significant capacity
  • Facilitating professional development
  • Curriculum development
  • Professional Mentoring
  • Writing articles or books

View the SASTA Honour Award recipients

BHP Foundation Science & Engineering Teacher Award

The BHP Foundation Science and Engineering Awards are open to Australian permanent residents who are primary or secondary school science teachers currently teaching in the classroom (minimum teaching load 50%). One teacher from each state and territory will be nominated by his or her local STA; in addition, the National CREST Coordinator will nominate a teacher. The nominee cannot have been nominated for these Awards in the previous two years. Only one application per STA is permitted and the STA President must sign a statement to verify the sole application.

View the BHP Foundation Science & Engineering Teacher Award winners & finalists 

Go to top of page